Gabrielle Goliath

This song is for ...

13.5. —
17.7.2022

Gabrielle Goliath is a South African multidisciplinary artist known for her conceptually refined and sensitive deliberations of complex social concerns, particularly in relation to questions of race, gender and sexual violence. In 2019 Goliath created a seminal installation piece titled This song is for … which asked survivors of rape to share a song of deep and personal significance, whether related to their experience of trauma or their journey of healing. This moving piece, which will now be shown in Switzerland for the first time, serves as a powerful and affective act of remembrance, moulding the idea of the dedication song into a reflection of the global severity of sexual violence against women and those who don’t conform to gender norms, through the testimonies of ten individuals.

In addition to this, the photographic series Berenice will also be shown as a premiere at Kunsthaus Baselland. This series of commemorative portraits marks the absent presence of Berenice, a childhood friend of Goliath’s who was killed in an incident of domestic violence. Each of the women photographed in the series mark a year unlived, from the year of Berenice’s death to that of the series’ completion in 2010. Goliath has since decided to revisit this series every decade. The new portraits, finalized in 2022, will hold to some of the formal qualities of the first series, but will also be open to differences that trace what she describes as the “life work of mourning”. Berenice is a cornerstone of the artist’s practice, marking a certain ethical turn towards a community-driven politics of care. Goliath’s work serves as a valuable pedagogical tool, drawing audiences into personal, relational, and thought-provoking encounters, addressing the layered implications of what is undoubtedly an ongoing global crisis of normative violence.

Substantiated by an exceptional exhibition history, Goliath has presented immersive installations worldwide and has also been the recipient of several prestigious art prizes including a Future Generation Art Prize/Special Prize (2019), the Standard Bank Young Artist Award (2019), as well as the Institut Français, Afrique en Créations prize at the Bamako Biennale (2017).

Curator: Ines Goldbach

Gabrielle Goliath

This song is for ...

13.5. —
17.7.2022

Gabrielle Goliath ist eine südafrikanische Künstlerin, die im Multimedialen arbeitet. Sie ist für ihre konzeptionell ausgefeilten und sensiblen Überlegungen zu komplexen sozialen Belangen bekannt, insbesondere in Bezug auf Fragen der Rasse, des Geschlechts und der sexuellen Gewalt. Im Jahr 2019 schuf Goliath eine bahnbrechende Installation mit dem Titel This song is for …, in der sie Überlebende von Vergewaltigungen aufforderte, ein Lied von tiefer und persönlicher Bedeutung vorzutragen, sei es im Zusammenhang mit ihrer Traumaerfahrung oder mit ihrem Weg der Heilung. Dieses bewegende Werk, das nun zum ersten Mal in der Schweiz gezeigt wird, ist ein kraftvoller Akt des Gedenkens. Die Idee des Widmungsliedes formt es durch die Aussagen von zehn Personen zu einer Reflexion über die globale Schwere der sexuellen Gewalt gegen Frauen und diejenigen, die nicht den Geschlechternormen entsprechen.

Darüber hinaus wird im Kunsthaus Baselland als Premiere die Fotoserie Berenice gezeigt. Diese Serie von Gedenkporträts erinnert an die abwesende Berenice, eine Kindheitsfreundin von Goliath, die durch häusliche Gewalt ums Leben kam. Jede der in der Serie fotografierten Frauen steht für ein ungelebtes Jahr, vom Todesjahr von Berenice bis zur Fertigstellung der Serie im Jahr 2010. Seitdem hat Goliath beschlossen, diese Serie alle zehn Jahre wiederaufzugreifen. Die neuen Porträts, die im Jahr 2022 fertiggestellt werden, sollen einige der formalen Qualitäten der ersten Serie beibehalten, aber auch offen für andere Ansätze sein, die nachzeichnen, was sie als “life work of mourning” bezeichnet. Berenice ist ein Eckpfeiler der Praxis der Künstlerin und markiert eine gewisse ethische Wende hin zu einer gemeinschaftsorientierten Politik der Fürsorge. Goliaths Arbeit dient gewissermassen als pädagogisches Instrument, um das Publikum zu persönlichen, beziehungsorientierten Begegnungen anzuregen. In einer Vielschichtigkeit thematisiert es das, was zweifellos eine andauernde globale Krise der normativen Gewalt ist.

Goliath kann auf eine außergewöhnliche Ausstellungsgeschichte zurückblicken, hat weltweit immersive Installationen präsentiert und wurde mit mehreren renommierten Kunstpreisen ausgezeichnet, darunter der Future Generation Art Prize/Special Prize (2019), der Standard Bank Young Artist Award (2019) sowie der Preis des Institut Français, Afrique en Créations auf der Bamako Biennale (2017).

KuratorIn: Ines Goldbach